Functional Fitness

Ever since I found Muay Thai I kicked bodybuilding to the curb. Now, that doesn’t mean I don’t lift weights anymore. I just like to incorporate exercise routines that will compliment me in kickboxing. 

Luckily for me, I found a new gym with an amazing strength and conditioning coach. A lot of the weightlifting we do is explosive in nature. The workout sessions are comparable to the lifting routines of olympic lifters and Crossfit athletes. However, I do not lift nearly as heavy as those athletes. We are fortunate to have a lifting coach that changes the routine everyday so that the sessions do not become mundane.

Our barbell and bodyweight exercises help us with our fast twitch muscles and power in striking. We even find ourselves feeling the same anaerobic burn that you get after nonstop multiple rounds of sparring. I would say that these routines are necessary for competitive kickboxers. Strength is not everything but it is definitely a nice compliment to technique.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

